Microsoft – How to find the 5 FSMO Roles

In this quick video tutorial I will show you how to easily find the 5 FSMO roles in your Microsoft Active Directory Environment using ntdsutil and netdom

Identifying the 5 FSMO roles

The five FSMO roles that we will be identifying are:

  • schema master
  • domain naming master
  • pdc
  • rid pool manager
  • infrastructure master

All the tutorials included on this site are performed in a lab environment to simulate a real world production scenario. As everything is done to provide the most accurate steps to date, we take no responsibility if you implement any of these steps in a production environment.